Traffic Law

Fighting for Your Best Interest

Protect your Driving Record

At De Pury Law we work to:

Prevent Insurance Hikes

Save you Time and Money

The biggest mistake that individuals make when they receive a traffic ticket is paying the fine before speaking with a qualified attorney. Paying your fine is an admission of guilt and can lead to marks against your driver's record, traffic school, an increased insurance rates, and more. The attorneys at De Pury Law have the expertise and experience to defend your case. In the majority of our cases, we have seen a fine reduction, no need for attending traffic school, and 0 points added to driving record.


On the opposite spectrum, ignoring a traffic violation can end up costing thousands in additional penalties, the loss of your driver's license, and imprisonment. It is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible to avoid penalties. 

Common Traffic Violations

  • Moving violations
  • Reckless driving
  • Suspended licenses
  • Driving under the influence


  • Failing to stop
  • Driving without a license
  • DUI manslaughter
  • Hit-and-run

A Word from Gary

Resolutions

In this video Gary explains the four resolutions you may receive from your traffic case. Guilty, Not Guilty, With hold, or Traffic School.

FAQs for Traffic Tickets

Watch this video where Gary gives you the answers to the Frequently Asked Questions his team receives after a client receives a traffic ticket.

Speeding

Speeding fines can cost up to $500 in fines. This cost could go  up to $1,000 if the offense occurred in a school or construction zone where there is an increased danger to pedestrians. Regardless of where the speeding offense occurred, the judge can order the driver to participate in driver improvement school in addition to the fine. Further, the judge may determine that the speeding charge will be increased to a charge of reckless driving. This occurs if the judge believes that the driver acted with willful or wanton disregard to the safety of people or property. The penalty for this charge can range from $25 to $500 in fines and up to 90 days in jail.


Speeding violations will also add three points to your driving record. Accumulating too many points can lead to costly consequences for the driver. Your license can be suspended, and your insurance premiums may increase. 

Reckless Driving

Florida Law defines reckless driving as any person who drives recklessly and carelessly without showing any regard for other motorists and/or property.


The punishment for being found guilty of reckless driving in the state of Florida is as follows:

  • 1st Conviction: The culprit will be sent to prison for no longer than 90 days and/or have to pay a fine that is at least $25 and does not exceed $500. 
  • 2nd Conviction (or additional convictions): The culprit will be sent to prison for no longer than 6 months and/or have to pay a fine that is at least $50 and does not exceed $1,000. 

If a driver inflicts bodily harm on a victim and/or damages property, he/she will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence of 5 years and/or a fine that does not exceed $5,000. 

DUI (Driving Under the Influence)

Florida Statute  Title XXIII Chapter 316.193 dictates that any individual who is operating a vehicle while he/she is under the influence of alcohol or any other prohibited substances (listed in Chapter 877.111 or 893) that impair faculties will be charged with a DUI. 


Depending on the number of previous convictions for DUI a n individual can face the following punishments:

  • 1st Conviction: prison time of 6 months and/or a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000 
  • 2nd Conviction: prison time of 9 months and/or a fine of no less than $1,000 and not greater than $2,000. 


Anyone who commits a 3rd DUI conviction will be charged with a 3rd-degree felony, punishable by a $5,000 fine and/or prison time that does not exceed 5 years. If the conviction occurs 10 or more years after the first conviction, the individual will be sent to prison for 12 months and pay a fine of $2,000-$5,000. 


Fourth or additional violations of this law will result in charges of a 3rd degree felony, but the fine will not be less than $2,000. 

Using a Suspended or Revoked License

Any display or intention to display a driver’s license that has previously been suspended, revoked, or cancelled (during which the driver is fully knowledgeable of the invalid nature of this license) will result in charges of a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, punishable with a fine of $500 and/or prison time that does not exceed 60 days. 


Here are the criteria that will determine if a person has committed this crime: 

  • The court has previously suspended or revoked the culprit’s driver’s license. 
  • The culprit was fully aware that this license was previously suspended or received notice of this cancellation. 

Any attempts to lend this license to another person is completely forbidden by law. 

Running a Red Light or Stop Sign

Although not explicitly stated in law, the rule of thumb for a person who is guilty of running a red light occurs when their vehicle is not completely past the white stop bar when the light turns from yellow to red. Stop signs,  on the other hand, are a simpler intersection. Florida law requires drivers to come to a complete stop at the stopping line. 


Red light cameras do not identify who the driver of the car is, instead the owner of the vehicle will be sent the violation notice. Additionally, stop signs may not be visible if they are covered by overgrown brush. For this reason, it may be advantageous to you to fight this ticket, especially if you cannot afford additional points against your driving record, or you cannot afford the fine. 

Involvement in a Motor Vehicle Crash

As dictated by  Title XXIII Chapter 316.061(1-3), any driver is involved in a crash that results in damages to vehicles and/or pieces of personal property (e.g. homes, garage units) is required to remain at the scene of the accident. If he/she fails to comply with this law, the culprit will be charged with a 2nd-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a $500 fine and/or imprisonment that does not exceed 60 days. Aside from the provisions listed in the Statutes, the culprit may be charged an additional $5 fine, which will be sent to the Emergency Medical Services Trust Fund. 


As Chapter 316.061(2) states, all stops must be made without blocking oncoming traffic (as little as what is required for the convenience of the officers), and the responsible party must make an effort to move his/her vehicle as far out of the way of traffic as possible. Anyone who fails to comply with this rule will be charged with a nonmoving traffic violation. 


Although law enforcement officials are tasked with removing vehicles from the roadways, keep in mind that drivers who are responsible for the crash will not be punished if they aid in removing their vehicles (or another motor vehicle) from the roadway for the convenience of the investigation.